Skip to content


This committee is chaired by the leader of the council who selects eight cabinet members from their ruling group. Each Cabinet member has specific areas of primary responsibility, as detailed below.

The Cabinet reviews reports prepared by council staff working with the cabinet member who represents them. The report recommends a decision on an important subject, and the Cabinet debates and votes on it in a public meeting.

Cabinet members can make decisions on less important subjects themselves – we call this an Individual Cabinet Member Decision.

We publish all decisions made by the Cabinet, and all Individual Cabinet Member Decisions on our democratic pages.

See our calendar for the dates of all of our Cabinet meetings. Five working days before a meeting, we will publish the reports the Cabinet is reviewing. You can find these reports on the calendar.

Cabinet Members and the areas they represent

Councillor Emily Smith – Leader of the Council:

  • Democratic Services

Councillor Bethia ThomasDeputy Leader of the Council and Cabinet Member Community Engagement:

  • Lead on Corporate Plan themes “Working in Partnership” and “Working in an Open and Inclusive Way”
  • Planning applications and enforcement
  • Business Support
  • Economic Development
  • Communication, Community Engagement and Consultation
  • Community Grants

Councillor Andrew Crawford – Cabinet Member for Finance and Corporate Assets:

  • Lead on Corporate Plan theme “Building Stable Finances”
  • Finance and Investments
  • Council owned Property
  • Parks and Grounds maintenance
  • Council Tax and Benefits
  • Car parks and toilets
  • Mobile Home Parks

Councillor Neil Fawcett – Cabinet Member for Strategic Partnerships and Place:

  • Regional and national partnerships, including:
    • Oxfordshire Growth Board
    • OxLEP and Enterprise Zones
    • Shared Services Contract
    • Oxford – Cambridge Arc

Councillor Debby Hallett – Cabinet Member for Corporate Services and Transformation:

  • Human Resources and IT
  • Planning Policy – Including the Vale’s Local Plan
  • Information governance
  • Corporate Policy and Programmes
  • Legal and Contracts

Councillor Helen Pighills – Cabinet Member for Healthy Communities:

  • Lead on Corporate plan theme “Building Healthy Communities”
  • Housing and Homelessness
  • Active Communities and Leisure
  • Community Safety
  • Licensing
  • Community and Arts Centres
  • Covid response and community support

Councillor Judy Roberts – Cabinet Member for Development and Infrastructure:

  • Lead on corporate plan theme “Providing the Homes People need”
  • Housing Development
  • Council housing delivery vehicle 
  • Infrastructure and developer contributions
  • Didcot Garden Town
  • Dalton Barracks Garden Village

Councillor Catherine Webber – Cabinet Member for Climate Emergency and Environment:

  • Lead on Corporate plan theme “Tackling the Climate Emergency”
  • Waste and Recycling
  • Environmental Protection
  • Air quality
  • Food Safety
  • Climate Emergency Action Planning

Find out who has to make decisions on what in our Constitution

Contact us - Democratic services

01235 422520
(Text phone users add 18001 before dialing)

Vale of White Horse District Council
135 Eastern Avenue
Milton Park
OX14 4SB