Vale of White Horse District Council appoints new leader and chairman

Released on May 17, 2018

Cllr Roger Cox has been elected the new Leader of Vale of White Horse District Council and Cllr Monica Lovatt elected chairman. 

Cllr Cox was appointed at a meeting of the full Council last night (16 May) and takes over from Cllr Matthew Barber, who had been leader since 2011. Cllr Barber has stepped down to take up the full-time post of deputy Police and Crime Commissioner for the Thames Valley. He will continue as district councillor for Steventon and the Hanneys ward. 

Cllr Cox was elected as a district councillor in 2003. He has served as Deputy Leader since 2011. 

Cllr Cox said he wished to thank Cllr Barber for his work as council leader and added: “I feel very honoured to have been chosen to lead Vale of White Horse District Council and I look forward to continuing to serve this community.”  

Cllr Cox appointed the council’s Cabinet at yesterday’s meeting and Cllr Ed Blagrove was appointed as his Deputy Leader.

The new Cabinet responsibilities are: 

  • Leader, planning, partnership and insight – Cllr Roger Cox
  • Deputy leader and corporate services – Cllr Ed Blagrove
  • Community services – Cllr Alice Badcock
  • Legal and democratic – Cllr Eric Batts
  • Regeneration and development – Cllr Mike Murray
  • Finance – Cllr Robert Sharp
  • Housing and Environment – Cllr Elaine Ware 

Cllr Monica Lovatt, who was Deputy Chairman was elected as the new council Chairman. She represents Abingdon Fitzharris. Her deputy is Cllr Ben Mabbett, ward councillor for Grove. She succeeds the outgoing chair Cllr Reg Waite who remains a ward councillor for Blewbury and Harwell.


Notes to editors

Yesterday’s full Council meeting took place at The Ridgeway, The Beacon, Portway, Wantage at 7pm.