Skip to content

Brownfield land register

The Brownfield Land Register is a requirement for all Local Planning Authorities through the Planning and Compulsory Purchase Act (2004) and the Town and Country Planning (Brownfield Land Register) Regulations 2017.

The register encourages the reuse of brownfield sites or “previously developed land” as defined by the National Planning Policy Framework and is intended to speed up the planning process for such sites.  The register focuses on the redevelopment of sites for residential use but can include other uses such as offices and retail provided they support a residential element. 

The Register comprises of two parts:

  • Part 1 is compulsory for every Local Planning Authority and identifies all brownfield sites with full or outline planning permission.  It also contains brownfield sites that may be considered as appropriate for residential development, having regard to local and national policy; and
  • Part 2 is discretionary but does have prescribed details and actions. Sites included in Part 1 of the register can then be considered for inclusion in Part 2, where they can obtain ‘permission in principle’, subject to relevant publicity and consultation.  Part 2 is discretionary and is intended to speed up the planning process for redevelopment of brownfield sites.

A brownfield site is included in the register where it: 

  • has an area of 0.25 hectares or is capable of supporting at least five dwellings;
  • is promoted for residential development;
  • is achievable (development can take place within 15 years of the entry date); and
  • is suitable for residential development.

In addition to the above, the following points are also considered as part of the process to assess the suitability of brownfield sites for residential development.  This is in accordance with national guidance.

  • Any adverse impacts on the natural environment
  • Any adverse impacts on the local built environment, in particular on heritage assets
  • Any adverse impacts on the local amenity that such development might cause for intended occupiers or occupiers of neighbouring properties
  • The strategic policies of Local Plan 2031 Part 1 and Local Plan 2031 Part 2
  • National Policies and advice
  • Guidance issued by the Secretary of State

You can see a map of the brownfield sites contained in the register using the links below.

We’re legally obliged to publish a register of the brownfield land available for development in Vale of White Horse. We’ve put this register together according to the government’s guidance.

The Brownfield Register was updated in December 2020.

The relevant maps for sites on the register are as follows:

3-7 Marlborough Street, Faringdon

5 Lechlade Road, Faringdon

9 Eynsham Road, Botley

13-17 London Street, Faringdon

26 Arnolds Way, Oxford

29&30 Market Place, Wantage

42 Market Place, Wantage

70 Cumnor Hill, Oxford

157 Eynsham Road, Botley

Chowle Farm Industrial Estate, Great Coxwell

Ideal Eyes, 76 West Way, Botley

Ladygrove Cottage, Drayton Road, Abingdon

8&8A Church Street, Wantage

Land at Besselsleigh Road, Wootton

Land at former Didcot A Power Station, Purchas Road, Didcot

Land at Upper Farm Road, Chilton

Land West of Faringdon Road, Cumnor

Riverside Court, 9 West Way, Botley

St Lawrence House, North Hinksey Lane, Botley

Sterling House, Oxford Road, Kingston Bagpuize with Southmoor

The Bungalow, Townsend, Grove

The Limes, Station Road, Grove

The Old Works Yard, Ardington

The Poplars, Drayton Road, Abingdon

Westwood Country Hotel, Hinksey Hill, Oxford

Contact us - Planning policy

01235 422600
(Text phone users add 18001 before dialing)

Vale of White Horse District Council
135 Eastern Avenue
Milton Park
OX14 4SB